All Content, Author Event, General Musings, Other Author Book Promo, Writing Goals, Writing Updates

Mischief & Mayhem Apr 1-14

When is so much, too much?

It’s been a hell of a Roller Coaster this past fortnight.

First of all, a terrible event occurred here in Sydney yesterday. I try not to reflect on the events of the world too much. There is so much devastation, greed, senseless violence and hate toward our fellow earth dwellers, that discussing just one tragedy seems inequitable to everyone else suffering.

Still, it’s hard not to pay attention when its so close. A dear friend of mine has been dealing with the sort of event we fear, and yet know one day must happen the last few weeks, as well.

So, in recognition of it all, of you, or someone you know who is going through some version of nightmare, I want to extend my sympathies to everyone who is currently dealing with the loss of a loved one, or waiting to hear news of a loved ones well-being.

  1. When is so much, too much?
  2. Writing Mayhem
  3. Other Mischief
    1. In the works
  4. Reading Mayhem
    1. Read
    2. Currently Reading
    3. Featured Author Spot
  5. Mischief for this Fortnight

Writing Mayhem

WIP

Vidal

Angelis

A New Leaf

Secret WIP

@ Last Update

44,144K

14,796K

New

40,336K

This Update Count

46,698K Completed

20,047K

51,289K

42,550K

VIDAL IS FINISHED! Only 3 months behind schedule.

As a result, I’m doubling up right now, working on the project scheduled to be written now, and Angelis, plus the Secret WIP, plus the spin off from the Black Mark Series.

That’s right, you counted that correctly. For the last 2 weeks I’ve been working on four different WIPs. And yes there isn’t a lot of words in those tables above to show for it, but keep in mind I’m trying to write while working full-time, being a mother and wife, and preparing for an author event next weekend.

Keep in mind, I’m not reporting the word counts of one of those WIPs to date either. (it’s at ~17k currently).

So, yes, the writing is happening. Not everyday, and not as much as I would like, but more than what it has for a while now. I’m taking the approach that slow and steady wins the race.


Other Mischief

Newcastle Book Boyfriend Expo is only 6 days away. As such, I’ve been busy getting swag, merch, book orders etc, all prepped and ordered. Today, I spent my morning signing preorders and prepping some other writing materials. You can still buy tickets to NBBE. Due to the location and WHS, they can’t sell tickets at the door, so you need to have bought your tickets online to attend.

I also had my first author spotlight for the Once Upon a Fairtytale event today. I focused on my romance side of things and ran a few giveaways. The giveaways are open until Midnight tonight if you want to take part. Just keep in mind you need to be in attendance at the event to collect one of those prizes.

I think I finally have my website up to date with the bookshop. Please check it out and let me know what you think.

In the works

Publishing Next

Serialising on Radish

Current Focus WIP

May 22: Cyra: Book 2 Chaos Star Trilogy

Unphased: Book 2 Raven’s Wing Trilogy

Angelis – Book 3: Angelis Series


Reading Mayhem

I’ve fallen down on the job and only managed to read one book this last fortnight. See the above writing and life schedule for justification for my lax reading. I really need to finish off some of these other books that have been sitting on my reading list for too long now. The downside to being a picky mood reader.

Read

Currently Reading

I was also asked about how I rate the books I read last week, so I thought I’d give a quick summary of what the stars mean to me. I’m a picky reader, keep that in mind.

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ = OMFG this book touched my soul and left me with a two week book hangover. I probably missed an entire night or more of sleeping because I couldn’t put it down.

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ = Loved It! Really enjoyed, it was a page turner and I highly recommend you check it out.

⭐️⭐️⭐️ = Enjoyed it. It had a good plot, enjoyable characters. Probably a light touch book that didn’t require too much investment from me and would be good to fill the time on a plane, or waiting room.

⭐️⭐️ = It was decent. Could use some work to iron out the wrinkles.

⭐️ = It had good bones but needed editing, better plot, probably a bit of waterboarding.

No Stars = DNF.

Is this how you rate your books? Or are you kinder/harsher than me?

Tell me how you rate your reads here.

A magic filled steampunk fantasy with spicy romance

Start reading Three Coins from a Dead Man’s Pocket by Myrenne Mae for free.

A daring druis with a thousand-year-old secret. A fiery love defying the magic of the realms. And an ancient, desperate soul hungry for vengeance.

#Steampunk #Fantasy #Romance #Magic #Steamy


Mischief for this Fortnight

School holidays have just started here, so while my main focus this week is getting ready for Newcastle Book Boyfriend Expo with writing when I can, I’m also aware that my free time will be eaten up pretty quickly.

We’ll see how we go.

Xoxo

Ebony

Leave a comment